top of page

Heading 1

All things travel & chats

Search
  • Writer's pictureRobyn Courtney

A winter week guide to travelling Bad Gastein, Austria.


I've just arrived home from one of the best weeks of my life. Something has changed within me. A spark has began to flicker and a passion has began to burn.


If you have followed my journey on my instagram you have probably realised pretty quickly that I have found a place were I could potential call home one day. Somewhere similar at least. So here I am cuddled into a corner in my favourite cafe about to dive into what I got up to and all things Bad Gastein including how to get there, what to pack and all things adventure.



I wanted to explore somewhere I had never heard of. So I opened the world map, chose somewhere in Europe, googled a random ski resort and booked a flight. We stayed 4 nights in Bad Gastein and 1 night in salzburg.



How magical is the view from our Air BnB... mountains, mountains and more mountains


 

What to pack for a week of snowy adventures:


Snowy adventures packing:


We decided to ski for one day and fill up the other 5 days with huskies sledding, tobogganing and hiking. Everything will be linked below! This was my first ski trip so I did a bit of research on what to buy and bring with me.




1. Ski Jacket: One of the most important pieces of clothing you will need. I did a bit of research before purchasing as some jackets can be expensive. I wanted a jacket that I could wear skiing and as a casual winter jacket. I decided to go with Dare2B but make sure to size up. I had to go two sizes up (thanks for that big booobs). Shop my jacket that I am wearing in the above picture here.


2. Thermals: I can guarantee you will not get out of your thermals the whole trip. These are a life saver to keep body warmth. I actually bought my matching thermals in lidl during the winter ski sale. I was a bit weary on their quality but they kept me super warm the whole trip.


3. Warm hat and ski gloves: I bought both hat and gloves on Decathlon. I bought the gloves in a size medium and they fit perfectly and kept my hands super warm!



4. Snow boots: My absolute favouriteee. I loved them so much and they didn't leave my feet the whole trip. You can buy them here! Highly recommend!


5. Ski socks: If you want to ensure your toes are nice and toasty in -10 degrees weather then ski socks and really important. You also want to make sure that they prevent any discomfort when wearing your ski boots.


Use this link to purchase ski socks for your snowy adventure!


6. Backpack: I did splash out a little bit for my hiking backpack! I wanted one that was durable and high quality. I decided to go with the Ospreys women tempest hiking backpack. This backpack carried everything from my camera, to snacks and my laptop. Super strong and durable. Its a cute colour too :)


7. Neck warmer


 



Accessories:


1. Portable speaker: perfect for a day of skiing or for a little dance before Aprés ski!


2. Portable charger: just incase you need your phone for emergencies on the slopes


3. Travel adapter: Double check the power outlets for wherever you go! Austrias power outlets require a travel adapter!


4. Reusable water bottle: Save those dolla bills and bring a reusable water bottle


5. wireless earphones: Perfect for your favourite playlist as your ski down the slopes


6. GoPro & camera: I would recommend leaving your camera in the apartment and bringing a GoPro just incase of a slippery fall! But if you are brave enough then bring both!


7. Suncream, make up wipes, deodorant: all things necessary to keep fresh on the mountains.




 

How to get to Bad Gastein, Austria.


The main airport close to Bad Gastein is in Salzburg. There is an excellent direct train service from salzburg to Bad Gastein.


There are some direct flights from Dublin to Salzburg. They didn't fall on the days we wanted to so we flew from :



Dublin-->Gatwick--->Salzburg for approximately €160 return.



Skyscanner is your best friend for getting the best deal!


 

Sit back, relax and take in a 1.5 hour dreamy train journey from Slazburg train station to Bad Gastein


A 1.5 hour train journey from salzburg train station to Bad Gastein. sit back, relax and take in all the dreamy views.





Buy your tickets online at GoEuro or at the station. We grabbed a return journey for €30.00






 

Our Air BnB for the week:


I searched for something magical when booking the trip.


I didn't want a random hostel for the week for my first snow trip.


Boy did we get lucky with this one....



 

We stayed in an alpine loft apartment over looking the valley. Super clean, cosy and comfortable.





Be prepared to bring some comfortable snow boots because its a 25 minute uphill walk to the valley. You can find this beautiful Air BnB here.


There is a ski bus 20 metres from the apartment that takes you to the slopes! its also free if you intend to ski!



I would be forever grateful if you book through my Air BnB link and help me save some dolla bills on my next booking <3


I didn't get many photos of the apartment but I did do an apartment tour on my full length vlog. Check it out!


 


What to do in Bad Gasteins: huskies sledding, tobogganing, skiing and so much more!!



 


1. Did someone say HUSKY SLEDDING?!



Yep I sure did!! This was top of my list to do! Hands down one of the best experiences of my life. Alina (the instructor) is a full time husky sledding competitor and competes around the world with her 10 dogs!


Meet Barbie!!! (her name suits frans ski attire perfectly)

Grab a bus from Bad Gastein to Sports Gastein where these beautiful little things await!!



They two instructors taught us about the history of huskies and the sport. They then introduced us to the actual sled.





Contact the team on whatsapp at +43 664 5293589 to pre-book a session!






 


2. Visit Valerihaus right beside the sledding and try some authentic Austrian Cuisine and drinks.













Say hello to Andy the bar man! He would be more than happy to teach you about how Austrian liquor is made! and maybe have a little taste, even if it is 10am lol



While in Sports Gastein visit the Hohe National park! Unfortunately the weather was to bad for us to visit but it was highly reccomended to us!



 

3. Take a wonder into Gschäftl to try their extensive range of Moonshine and even take some home!


They also have really cool sweaters, sunglasses and other little bits you can pick up!





 

4. Visit Bad Gasteins iconic waterfall



You walk pass it every day from the Air BnB!




 

5. Toboggan 2.5 KM downhill at Bellevue Alm


This is a must do!!! only €7 for a private chair lift up to the top of the mountain and toboggan ride back down.


Thrilling, exciting and an epic time!












 

6. Hire a private ski instructor at the Freeride Ski School


For a two hour private ski lesson it was €200 for 3 people.


You can rent ski equipment for a whole day for €40.







 

7. Get a 3 hour pass to the Felsentherme and relax in an outdoor heated pool overlooking the snowy mountains





Right beside the ski school you find the Felsentherme.


For a 3 hour pass it cost €23 which is pretty decent. You can also rent towels and bathrobes if needed!





 

8. After a day or skiing and relaxing get your butt straight to APRÉS SKI!!!


Never heard of Aprés Ski? It basically means "After ski" were everyone goes straight from the mountain to the bar.


It usually starts from 3-8 pm. You then head home freshen up and come back out at 11pm to party the rest of the night away!



SHOTS SHOTS SHOTS.... All €3... so how could you say no?!



If you're brave enough try the Iconic "Ski Water" .... 8 shots and smirnoff Ice ;)


My favourite Aprés ski bars:


1. Heaggloms

2. Silver bullet

3. Leaderhosen



 


9. Take the Stubnerkogel Gondola up the mountain to visit the suspension bridge over looking Bad Gastein


Tickets were €22 to go up and down.





 


Other things to include in your trip to Bad Gastein:


1. Dinner at Rossalm


2. Zip Line across Gastein Valley with "Flying Waters"


3. Try the delicious coffee at "Blonde Beans"


4. Hike the "Kaiser Wilhelm Way" to the Koetschachtal Valley and then into the "Hohe Tauren National Park"


5. See the high and wide alpine panorama at the national park



 

Want to see more? Check out my vlog from the trip here!


If you visit I would love to know!


Happy travelling <3


Love Robyn x

176 views0 comments
bottom of page